Baby’s day (days) out

 

I was always worried how will we ( my husband G and I) ever start going out with baby A. Baby A is now five months old and very cute ( all babies are!) not to mention her growing acrobatics and tantrums. So last weekend we decided to take the bull (raging baby) by the horn (in her pram) for an outing. We decided to go for a lunch buffet at the Mariott (believing that the staff there will be more courteous and they will have good baby care facilities). Now, our dear baby A has this peculiar habit of knowing before hand what is coming her way, yes those incredible baby powers where they start crying at the crucial moments. G started to change diaper and baby instantaneously sensed something, her eyes saying-wait I will show to you guys, I could almost hear the threat in her blabbering tone. Baby A generally is very well behaved in a car, all moving vehicles actually, I forgot this fact and wondered if I was making too much out of it. We reached Mariott and she was still in her best elements, my smile grew even bigger. Oh baby I was so wrong in judging you! With a big smile we started eating, the moment I had my first bite, she goes aaaaaaa ooooooo laaaa! Ok, I could so understand the phrase ‘lull before the storm’! Scene 2: One round of the hotel and one feed afterwards, baby was back in her pram and looking happy ( touch wood, touch iron, steel whatever). So we started the next course, and here she goes again (whatever happened to that wood?). This time G proposed to let her be for sometime and see what she does. Now this is difficult to do (all those mother hormones stir your inside) but I controlled myself pretending to be ok with it. It worked! After some tantrums, she got busy with herself, observing and looking around. Not so bad, I thought to myself.

In the evening we decided to head for a coffee at Costa, once there, G’s cousin tried entertaining her with some face making, least please she was. But still not the full show in offering, we were sitting comfortably waiting for our coffee. The moment I tried to take the first sip, here she goes! Ooooo, laaa….mummmmm ok, I didn’t see that coming. Onlookers were giving us those strange looks-why would you bring a baby to a coffee place? Why would you not let a baby enjoy the peaceful surroundings of your house grrr…but this time, it didnt’t last long and she found too many distractions to focus on, all three of us sighed in chorus! Surprisingly, she did pretty ok as compared to her other outing.

Yesterday was my G’s cousin’s birthday and we decided to go to barbecue nation. This time baby was calm about the whole preparations, so did we think! She was behaving well all throughout, we thought we will have dinner in peace ( I was just about to thank God for small mercies) but baby had other plans. She started her usual singing expeditions and we were back to baby soothing, strolling and feeding. She looked somewhat pleased post all these efforts and gave those assuring smiles, nodding in approval that we could eat, finally! Thank you baby A J

This one is from one of those evening walks:)

blog

 

About Kiran Bala

Colors and Words is about capturing colors and giving some words to those colors. Simple pics, simple stories or no stories for that matter...something to capture a day, a moment, or random something...its about everything yet about nothing...just life in motion!
This entry was posted in My Daughter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment